Outstanding Food Safety Leader Award


We are pleased to accept nominations for our first annual Outstanding Food Safety Leader Award, presented by the National Restaurant Association Food Safety & Quality Assurance Executive Study Group and Ecolab. This award recognizes achievement and leadership in the field of food safety and/or quality assurance.

The ideal candidate for this award is…

A person who lives food safety

Someone who shows dedication to food safety through personal and career accomplishments such as:

  • improving food safety systems or processes
  • reducing risks associated with food
  • mentoring other food safety professionals
  • introducing and using innovations to manage food supplies or food service operations
  • or contributing to the advancement of food safety

Requirements Checklist

Applicant or applicant’s employer must be a member of the National Restaurant Association in good standing.
Applicant has a minimum of five years of experience in food safety/quality assurance in restaurants or foodservice.
Completion of the award application by Sept. 13, 2019.
Two references from peers in the industry.
Applicant must be able and willing to attend the FSQA ESG conference in Orlando, Oct. 9-11.

Self-nomination is acceptable. Members of the Food Safety & Quality Assurance Executive Study Group Steering Committee are eligible. (The only exceptions: Members of the award committee, the chair and vice chair of the FSQA ESG, and any steering committee member required to stand in for judging are not eligible.)  

The award committee will vet all nominations and the award winner will be notified by late September. All applications will be retained for two consecutive award years and will be re-reviewed unless expressly stated otherwise by the applicant.